How can I make data private?

Sometimes your team may be discussing information with candidates that needs to remain private from certain users. In order to help you do this, you have the ability to mark data as private, as well as prohibit users.

Do candidates/applicants see information in their Recruiterbox profiles?

No. The only information that is accessible to candidates is what you send to them in candidate messaging emails (through candidate messaging or through the interview creation page).

How do I make application questions private?

Creating private application questions allows candidates to answer information that will only be visible to account Super Admins and Job Admins on that particular application's opening. ( Please note: Standard & Pro Plus customers have the option to edit which user levels have access to private fields from the Settings > Permissions page). This is great when discussing things such as current salary information. 

To create a private application question:

  • Click " Openings" on the left bar of your Recruiterbox screen.

  • Your openings dashboard will display. Click the name of the opening you'd like to create a private application question for.

  • The opening details will display. Select the "Jobs Settings" tab, then click "Application Form".

  • Now you have the chance to add, edit and delete application questions. Click pencil icon beside an existing question, or on "Add a New Question" to make a question private.

  • Once inside question creation, click the check box for "Private Field" to toggle on or off the private answer. Fill out the remaining question details as desired, and click "Save".

  • On the customize the application form page, a lock will display beside this question to display that it is a private question.

  • After the candidates fill out the application form, the answers display with a lock beside it as well for the account Super Admins and Job Admins.

  • Note - if you toggle a question to private that has been answered by a candidate already, their answer will remain public. Only future answers will mark as private.

Can I mark an existing candidate profile line as private?

Yes! Click on the pencil icon option to the right of the line of information, and select Edit. 

Then check the box to make the data private. Do note - this only marks this line of this candidate's profile as private. 

How do I make private comment?

When creating a comment in the candidate's profile you have the option to mark this as private as well. Private comments are only visible to Super Admins and users copied on the comments.

To create a private comment:

  • Click on "Candidates" on the left bar of your Recruiterbox screen

  • Click the name of the candidate you'd like to create a private internal note for

  • At the top of the candidate's profile click "Comments" to open up the Comments section

  • Write your comment, and copy any desired users to the note. Click the "Make it Private" checkbox to make the note private. Private comments can be seen by any Super Admin as well as any user copied on the note.
  • Private comments display with a lock when viewing the note in the candidate profile. For users who don't have access to the note (not copied on it and not a Super Admin) the note will not appear in the candidate profile.

Can I mark a comment as private after it has been created?

Yes. If you want to go back and mark a note as private after the fact you can do so by clicking the 3-dot icon next to the comment you'd like to edit, and select "Mark as private"

(You can also use this functionality to "unmark" a previously private note).

How do I make private candidate messages?

When you are creating a candidate message in the candidate's profile you have the option to mark this as private as well. Private candidate messages are only visible to Super Admin and users copied on the messages.

  • Click on "Candidates" on the left bar of your Recruiterbox screen

  • Click the name of the candidate you'd like to create a private candidate message for

  • the top of the candidate's profile click the "Email" to open up the Emails section.

  • You will see the "Make it Private" checkbox on the top right of the message box. Finish the message accordingly.

  • Private messages display with a lock icon beside them:

Can I make a candidate message private after the fact?

Yes. If you want to go back and mark a note as private after the fact you can do so be clicking the pencil icon to edit.

  • Click on the name of the user & candidate who are currently on the email thread. 

  • On the next screen you can add other users to be copied on the message, or mark it as private. (You can also use this functionality to "unmark" a previously private message).

Can I make private interviews?

Certainly. When you create private interviews the interview is only see by the people invited to the interview, and Super Admin in the account.

Here are the steps for creating a private interview:

  • Click on "Candidates" on the left bar of your Recruiterbox screen

  • Click the name of the candidate you'd like to create a private interview for

  • At the right side of the candidate's profile will be the Timeline. Scroll to the bottom of this section and click the calendar icon to schedule an interview

  • On the interview creation page you'll find a "Mark as Private" button under the Interview name. Check this to create a private interview. Complete the remaining details for the interview.

  • Private interviews display as private in the profile of Super Admin and those invited to the interview. Others can not see the interview.

Can I make an interview private after I have created it?

Yes. You will do this by editing the interview information.

  • From within the candidate's Timeline, click the interview to open its details, then click the 3-dot icon in the right corner of the interview information box and select "Edit Details" from the drop down

  • Click the "Mark as Private" button to make it private

Can I prohibit users from certain profiles?

Yes - each candidate profile has the option to prohibit users. If a user is prohibited from the candidate profile they won't have access to see the profile in the account.

Here are the steps to prohibiting a user:

  • Click on "Candidates" on the left bar of your Recruiterbox screen

  • Click on the name of the candidate that you'd like to create a prohibited user for

  • At the top of the candidate profile, click on the 3-dot icon, then select "Manage prohibited users"

  • Click "ADD USER"

  • Then select the user to prohibit from the dropdown and click "Prohibit this User"

  • The prohibited user will now display.

What about my hired or decisioned candidates - can I lock access to them?

Yes! You can lock access to your candidates who are in a decisioned state, preventing future users from having access to their profiles. Learn more about this by clicking here.

Can I prohibit users from an opening as well?

Not at this time. You can only prohibit users from specific candidates, not from openings. Only Super Admin users will have access to all openings. Other limited-access users (including Recruitment Managers, Recruiters, and Hiring Team Members) will only have access to openings they create or that are assigned to them.

Questions? Feel free to reach out at any time at support@recrutierbox.com!